clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

UConn men’s hockey lands elite 2021 goalie Logan Terness

Terness projects to be the Huskies’ goaltender of the future.

Ian Bethune/The UConn Blog

One of UConn men’s hockey’s top priorities for its 2021 recruiting class was finding an heir apparent for Tomas Vomacka in net. Now, the Huskies have their man. UConn landed a commitment from Logan Terness, an elite goaltender out of British Columbia, Canada, a source told The UConn Blog.

Vomacka, a fifth round pick by the Nashville Predators in the 2017 NHL Entry Draft, will likely sign a pro contract at the conclusion of the 2020-21 season.

Listed at 6 feet, Terness played for the Trail Smoke Eaters of the BCHL, where he won the league’s Rookie of the Year award and earned second team All-BCHL honors despite being just 17 years old.

Terness is regarded as an excellent skater that moves well in the crease and compensates for his average height with refined technique. He also does well against second and third chances in front of the net and rarely gives up soft goals. The program considers Terness to be not only the best goaltender prospect in British Columbia, but possibly the best in all of Canada.

“His hockey sense is really good and he’s able to read plays at a high level,” the source said.

British Columbia has developed into the top recruiting pipelines for Mike Cavanaugh and his staff. Current Huskies Carter Berger, Jonny Evans, Hudson Schandor and Carter Turnbull all hail from the province along with 2021 commits Brandon Santa Juana, Sean Donaldson and now Terness.

Terness will join sophomore Ryan Keane and freshman Matt Pasquale as goaltenders on the roster once he arrives in Storrs.

UConn now has six players committed in the class of 2021 and will look to add another forward or two to the current group.

These are the Huskies’ future commits:

2021: Forwards Mark D’Agostino, Nate Hanley, Tabor Heaslip, Brandon Santa Juana; defenseman Jack Pascucci; goaltender Logan Terness

2022: Forwards Ignat Belov, Sean Donaldson, Oliver Flynn

2023: Forward Mike Murtagh

Unclassified: Forward Drew Elser