clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Five Former Huskies Named WNBA All-Stars

UConn is once again well represented in the WNBA All-Star game.

Ian Bethune/The UConn Blog

On Tuesday evening, the 2018 WNBA All-Stars were announced, with five former UConn Huskies set to play in the 2018 All-Star game in Minneapolis on July 28th. The new format adopted in 2018 gives roster spots to the top 22 vote-getters regardless of conference. Maya Moore, Sue Bird, Diana Taurasi, Tina Charles and Breanna Stewart were all among the top vote receivers.

Moore lead all players in voting with over 47,000 votes and was named an All-Star captain, but decided to decline the role. With Moore declining the role, Elena Delle Donne and Candace Parker will serve as the game’s captains. This is the former Husky’s sixth All-Star selection. Moore is averaging 18.0 points and 5.1 rebounds per game this season for the defending champion Minnesota Lynx.

Bird tallied the fourth highest number of votes, for her 11th All-Star selection, a new WNBA record. The former UConn star had previously tied the record with her 10th selection, sharing the title with Tamika Catchings. In her 16th season with the Seattle Storm, Bird is averaging a career-best 7.1 assists per game, which ranks second in the league.

Taurasi, amidst another record breaking season, collected her ninth All-Star selection. Earlier this season she surpassed the 8,000-point mark and became the WNBA’s all-time field goal leader. The Phoenix Mercury star is also currently ranked sixth in the league for both points and assists per game.

Charles, the New York Liberty’s leading scorer, earned her sixth All-Star selection. Her 20 points per game ranks fifth in the league. She also rounds out the top 10 in the league for rebounds, averaging seven per game.

Stewart picked up her second All-Star selection in her third season as a professional. Stewart is currently leading the league in points per game and has been tagged as a candidate for MVP this season. She plays alongside Bird for the Storm, who currently sit at the top of the league standings.

The two All-Star game captains will draft teams, which will be announced on Thursday during the 8 p.m. ET broadcast of the Washington Mystics and Dallas Wings game on ESPN2. The starting lineups will be announced the day before the game (July 27th) during the welcome ceremony, which will air at 7 p.m. ET on ESPN2.

UPDATE 7/19: The two teams were announced. Sue Bird, Diana Taurasi and Breanna Stewart will play for Team Delle Donne while Tina Charles and Maya Moore will play for Team Parker.

WNBA All-Star Teams

Team Delle Donne Team Parker
Team Delle Donne Team Parker
Seimone Augustus Liz Cambage
Sue Bird Tina Charles
DeWanna Bonner Skylar Diggins-Smith
Elena Delle Donne Chelsea Gray
Sylvia Fowles Jewell Loyd
Brittney Griner Angel McCoughtry
Kayla McBride Maya Moore
Breanna Stewart Chiney Ogwumike
Diana Taurasi Nneka Ogwumike
Kristi Toliver Candace Parker
A’ja Wilson Allie Quigley