clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Numerous UConn Hockey Players Earn Hockey East All-Academic Honors

28 Huskies maintained a 3.0 GPA throughout the season.

Ian Bethune

This week, Hockey East announced their 2017-18 All-Academic Team for men’s and women’s hockey. The honor is reserved for student-athletes who achieve a grade point average of 3.0 or better in each of the two academic periods during the season.

This year, UConn Men’s Hockey had twelve players named to the All-Academic Team. Top goal-scorers Maxim Letunov, Spencer Naas and Alexander Payusov all landed on the list, as well as top defenseman Phillip Nyberg. Naas joined seniors John Austin, Jeff Wright and Kasperi Ojantakanen as UConn’s Distinguished Scholar recipients; student-athletes that earned a 3.0 in each semester of four varsity seasons.

In total, Adam Karashik, Johnny Austin, Naas, Payusov, Karl El-Mir, Jesse Schwartz, Max Kalter, Wight, Ojantakanen, Nyberg, Letunov and Bradley Stone all earned the honor.

Ian Bethune - The UConn Blog

It was a historic year in Hockey East on the women’s side. A record 131 female student-athletes were named to the 2017-18 All-Academic Team, 16 of which played for the Huskies. Graduating seniors Annie Belanger and Lindsay Roethke joined Naas, Austin, Wright and Ojantakanen as Distinguished Scholars.

Beyond the required 3.0 GPA, a special honor is reserved for student-athletes with a perfect 4.0 GPA for the season. This year, seven athletes from four different schools were named Hockey East’s Top Scholar-Athletes, and one player from UConn was among them. Junior forward Catherine Crawley maintained a perfect 4.0 GPA as a key contributor this past season.

The 16 women’s hockey players to make the team were Madison Badeau, Belanger, Cydnee Cook, Crawley, Morgan Fisher, Jaime Fox, Justine Fredette, Theresa Knutson, Rebecca Lindblad, Leah Lum, Marisa Maccario, Emily Reid, Roethke, Natalie Snodgrass, Morgan Wabick and Taylor Wabick.