clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Twelve Huskies Named to Hockey East All-Academic Team

A record 149 players were named to the team.

Ian Bethune/The UConn Blog

On Wednesday, Hockey East released its All-Academic team, comprised of all the players that had a 3.0 GPA both semesters of the 2016-17 academic year.

Twelve Huskies were named to the team, five of which were three-time honorees and two more were named to the team for the second time.

Defenseman Johnny Austin, forward Spencer Naas, forward Kasperi Ojantakanen, goaltender Steve Thulin, and forward Jeff Wight were all named to the team for their third time, all five completed their third year of eligibility in 2016-17.

Defenseman Joona Kunnas was named to the team for the second time after leaving the team midseason and forward Jesse Schwartz also grabbed a spot for the second time.

Tanner Creel, Maxim Letunov and Evan Richardson were all upperclassmen named to the team for the first time, while Bryan Nelson and Philip Nyberg, who joined the team midseason, were two freshmen who made the team for the first time.

The Huskies had the fifth-most players make the team, behind Maine, UMass, UMass Lowell and Merrimack.