clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Four Former Huskies Named to WNBA 20@20

The WNBA is celebrating its 20th season by naming the 20 most influential players in the league's history.

Brian Spurlock-USA TODAY Sports

The WNBA announced its "20@20" in commemoration of the 20 greatest and most influential players in the 20-year history of the league. Sixty names were released last week as nominees and they were voted on by a committee of 15 members. The committee was made up of media members, current and former WNBA coaches and members of the Women's Basketball Hall of Fame.

In order to be considered, players must have played for at least two seasons and meet three of seven other criteria; winning a major individual award, being named to an All-WNBA first or second team, being named to All-WNBA All-Defensive first or second team, an All-Star selection, winning a WNBA title, a current ranking in the top-30 in a major statistical category, a selection to the All-Decade team that was voted on in 2006, or being named to the Top 15 that was voted on in 2011.

Of the 20 members of the list, four are former Huskies. Sue Bird, Swin Cash, Maya Moore and Diana Taurasi were selected, making UConn the most represented school ahead of Southern California, who had three.

Sue Bird was the first overall pick in 2002 by the Seattle Storm. She is a two-time champion, nine-time All-Star and has been named to the All-WNBA first team four times. Bird was the first player in WNBA history to score 5,000 points and register 2,000 assists. She was also named to both the All-Decade team and one of the 15 Greatest Players in WNBA history in 2011.

Drafted one player after Sue Bird in the 2002 Draft was Swin Cash, who was picked second overall. She is a three-time WNBA champion and was selected to the All-Star game four times, winning MVP twice. Cash was named to the All-WNBA second team twice and was on the 2011 All-Defensive team.

Maya Moore is also a three-time WNBA Champion and was also selected first overall, in 2011 by the Minnesota Lynx. The 2014 WNBA MVP has been selected to the All-WNBA first team three times and was on the 2012 All-WNBA second team. Moore is a four time All-Star and was the 2015 All-Star Game MVP. She was also the 2011 Rookie of the Year.

Diana Taurasi is a two-time WNBA champion and was the 2009 WNBA Finals MVP, as well as the 2009 WNBA MVP. She is a five-time All-Star and was on the All-WNBA first team seven times. She was also on the 2005 All-WNBA second team. She won three titles at UConn and was named as one of the Top 15 players of all-time in 2011.

Former Tennessee Lady Volunteers Tamika Catchings and Candace Parker also made the list.