clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

American Athletic Conference Women's Basketball 2015-2016 Award Winners Announced

The UConn Huskies earned a heaping helping of conference accolades after an undefeated regular season.

Ian Bethune

It is all starts this weekend for the NCAA automatic bid in the American at Mohegan Sun.  For the third straight year, the luxurious Connecticut resort and casino will host the AAC women's basketball championship.  Here is a quick preview of the tournament along with a rundown of conference award winners, including video of the UConn wins.

In terms of the favorite, make no mistake, this is UConn's championship to lose. The Huskies are the prohibitive favorite and everyone else is playing for second place. The Huskies have yet to lose an AAC game.


Round 1 - Friday, March 4, 2016

No. 8 East Carolina vs. No. 9 Cincinnati, 4pm (ESPN3)

No. 7 SMU vs. UCF, 6pm (ESPN3)

No. 6 Tulsa vs Houston, 8pm (ESPN3)

Quarterfinals - Saturday, March 5, 2016

No. 4 Memphis vs. No. 5 Tulane, 12pm (ESPN3)

No. 1 UConn vs East Carolina/Cincinnati winner, 2pm (ESPN3)

No. 2 USF vs. SMU/UCF winner, 6pm (ESPN3)

No. 3 Temple vs. Tulsa/Houston winner, 8pm (ESPN3)

Semifinals - Sunday, March 6, 2016

Afternoon winners, 4:30pm (ESPNU)

Evening winners, 6:30pm (ESPNU)

Championship - Monday, March 7, 2016, 7pm (ESPN2)

Coach of the Year: Geno Auriemma, UConn.

Without question, Auriemma was the best coach in the American. He wins the COY award for the third straight year. He led the top-ranked Huskies to another undefeated regular season.

Player of the Year: Breanna Stewart, UConn.

The senior is having the best season of her career after winning the past two conference POY awards. Stewart, averaging 19.6 points per game, 8.6 rebounds, 4.1 assists and 3.4 blocked shots, was a unanimous selection.

Freshman of the Year: Kitija Laksa, USF.

The freshman from Latvia averages 13.4 points per game and made a conference-leading 70 3-pointers this season. Laksa was an unanimous selection.

All-Conference First Team

Moriah Jefferson, UConn *

Breanna Stewart, UConn *

Morgan Tuck, UConn

Jada Payne, East Carolina

Courtney Williams, USF *

Alliya Butts, Temple

All-Conference Second Team

I'Tiana Taylor, East Carolina

Ariel Hearn, Memphis

Kitija Laksa, USF

Feyonda Fitzgerald, Temple

Kolby Morgan, Tulane

All-Conference Third Team

Kia Nurse, UConn

Alisia Jenkins, USF

Alicia Froling, SMU

Leslie Vorpahl, Tulane

Ashley Clark, Tulsa

All-Freshman Team

Napheesa Collier, UConn

Katie Lou Samuelson, UConn *

Serithia Hawkins, Houston *

Kitija Laksa, USF *

Taylor Emery, Tulane

Defensive Player of the Year

Moriah Jefferson, UConn *

Most Improved Player of the Year

Leslie Vorpahl, Tulane

Scholar-Athlete of the Year

Courtney Williams, USF

Sportsmanship Award

Morgan Tuck, UConn

Sixth Player of the Year

Shalethia Stringfield, USF

Newcomer of the Year

McKenzie Adams, SMU

[*] Unanimous selection