clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

UConn Football Recruiting: Huskies Gain Four Commitments

The Huskies added two defensive players and two offensive linemen to the haul for the class of 2017.

Ian Bethune/The UConn Blog

After a weekend which saw over a dozen recruits visiting Storrs, Bob Diaco and his staff received three verbal commitments on Sunday. The players, Max Cummins, Dallas Hobbs and James Tunstall are the first commits for the Huskies since Omar Fortt’s pledge in August.

Cummins was the first to announce his decision this morning. He is a 6-foot-6, 250-pound prospect from Fort Worth, TX who will play defensive line at UConn. He held offers from Army, Brown, and Columbia but also had interest from Power-5 schools Kansas State, Oklahoma State, and TCU.

Rivals has Cummins rated as a two-star recruit. He also has the size Diaco favors, especially with power players. This is the second consecutive year UConn has received a verbal commitment from Texas.

The Huskies got another commit along the defensive line in Deerfield Academy’s Dallas Hobbs. Like Cummins, Hobbs has prototypical size at 6-foot-6, 235 pounds. He held two FBS offers, from Army and Toledo, as well as a few FCS offers. Originally from Cedar Rapids, Iowa, Hobbs went to Deerfield Academy for a post-grad season.

The final commitment of the day came from James Tunstall, an offensive tackle from Indian Head, Maryland. He also has great size at 6-foot-6, 305 pounds and held offers from Bowling Green and Toledo, in addition to a number of FCS schools.

The Huskies now have 10 verbal commitments for the class of 2017, so they definitely have work to do to fill out the roster. Hopefully, they can close strong in the time until National Signing Day in early-February.


On Monday, UConn added another recruit in Ryan Van Demark, an offensive tackle from Princeton, New Jersey. The 6-foot-7, 260-pound lineman also held offers from Fordham, New Hampshire and Villanova, among other FCS schools. He adds to the Huskies’ growing pipeline from the Garden State that includes Eddie Hahn and Nick Zecchino from the class of 2016 and John Robinson IV, Luke Sowa and Marshe Terry from the class of 2015.