clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

UConn Women’s Soccer: Huskies Earn Numerous Conference Awards

The Huskies earned plenty of hardware on Tuesday as the AAC announced its annual awards.

Ian Bethune/The UConn Blog

After finishing up the regular season on Thursday, the American Conference handed out its regular season awards. The UConn Huskies, holders of this year’s regular season title, were recognized with numerous accolades.

To nobody’s surprise, senior Stephanie Ribeiro was named the Offensive Player of the Year. Ribeiro leads the country in goals, game-winning goals, points, and points-per-game. This is the third consecutive season that a Husky has been named OPOY, with Rachel Hill earning the award the past two seasons.

Last season, Ribeiro was named the American’s Midfielder of the Year, but this year Hill took the award. The New Hampshire native has scored 13 goals in her senior campaign and is currently in sole possession of second place all-time at UConn for career goals scored.

In the back line, fellow senior Tori Patterson was named Co-Defensive Player of the Year. She anchors a defense which has held opponents to one goal or less in all but one game throughout conference play.

Emily Armstrong earned Goalkeeper of the Year for the second consecutive season. Armstrong has started every game and has played every minute along the way. She ranks 14th in the country with nine shutouts and 26th with a save percentage of .857.

Finally, head coach Len Tsantiris earned Co-Coach of the Year honors after winning the regular season title and leading the Huskies to an undefeated record in conference play.

In addition to individual awards, Armstrong, Hill, Ribeiro and Patterson made the All-AAC First Team. Midfielder Alana Moore and defender Kristen Vinciguerra were named to the All-Rookie Team.

After an immensely successful regular season, UConn now turns its focus to the postseason. They will host the American Conference Tournament this week at Morrone Stadium, where they will face the winner of the 4/5 matchup on Friday at 7pm.