clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Third Period Recap: FINAL – UConn 1 - UMass-Lowell 3

Period Recap

UConn came out strongly, managing a couple shots in the first few minutes.  With about five minutes gone, the Huskies managed a 3-on-2 steaming at the Riverhawks' Kevin Boyle, but Boyle came though with the clutch stick save to prevent the Huskies from tying it up on their first truly good chance of the night.  On the play, Spencer Naas hit the boards hard and returned to the bench slowly after a stop in play. He would return within the period. The same happened soon after with Cody Sharib chasing after a potential icing on a scary hit, but all parties seemed to be alright in the end.

The two teams traded possession for nearly six minutes from there.  Neither side accomplishing much of anything to wake the nearly slumbering crowd until UML's Michael Fallon scooped away a UConn broken pass and centered the puck to Michael Colantone who flipped it over Rob Nichols left shoulder at 16:58.  Colatone completely beat his mark down the ice for the easy score, and Nichols, again, never stood a chance.  With just a couple minutes before the horn blew, most in attendence decided to stay and cheer on their respective teams instead of the customary filing out.  The throaty UConn fans cheered as Nichols was taken off with 1:25 to go, but they were quickly silenced by the empty net goal scored by UMass-Lowell's A.J. White at 18:55. UML fans began their chanting as the neutral fans wrangled their children and walked toward the exits.

With 12 seconds to go, Cody Sharib wristed a desperation shot from the slot off the faceoff that found the back of the net, ruining Kevin Boyle's clean sheet, but the result did not change.  The horn rang after the center faceoff and UConn takes the runner-up at the Frozen Holiday Classic.  The game was a lot closer than the scoreline allows, with UConn playing UML well but not nearly well enough.

Spencer Naas and Jacob Poe took home All-Tourney Team honors.




19:48 – Cody Sharib; assisted by David Drake.


16:58 – Michael Colantone; assisted by Michael Fallon.

18:55 – A.J. White; EMPTY NET