clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Kemba Walker named Naismith Award finalist

Kemba Walker, one of four Naismith finalists.
Kemba Walker, one of four Naismith finalists.

Kemba Walker is one of the four finalists for the Naismith Award, which is given to the top player in college basketball. He is joined by BYU's Jimmer Fredette, Ohio State's Jared Sullinger and Duke's Nolan Smith. The four finalists were announced today during halftime of the Ohio St. vs. George Mason game.

Fredette is the overwhelming favorite to win the award and the statistics lean his way. One could argue though that the lack of a supporting cast around Kemba should work in his favor. Alternatively, in a dream world where defense mattered for awards like this Kemba would stand a much better chance.

The winner will be announced in two weeks during the Final Four.